# SOUTH BUCKS DISTRICT COUNCIL

## Extraordinary Council - 19 October 2017

- Present: Councillors Dr W Matthews (Chairman), D Pepler (Vice-Chairman), R Bagge, P Bastiman, M Bezzant, B Gibbs, P Griffin, L Hazell, P Hogan, G Hollis, J Jordan, P Kelly, M Lewis, N Naylor, J Read, R Reed, R Sangster, D Smith and L Sullivan
- Apologies: Councillors D Anthony, M Bradford, S Chhokar, D Dhillon, T Egleton, B Harding, J Lowen-Cooper and G Sandy.

### 32. ONE MINUTES SILENCE

The Council paid tribute to Councillor Alan Walters MBE, who sadly passed away on 3 September.

Alan was elected Councillor for the District Ward of Beaconsfield North in 2001. During his time at the Council, Alan had been Chairman of the Personnel Committee, and played an important advisory role on the Healthy Communities, Environment and Sustainable Development Policy Advisory Groups. Alan was Chairman of the Council from 2010 to 2013, and was also Vice Chairman prior to that.

More recent roles include Chairman of the Licensing Committee, and serving on the Overview and Scrutiny, and Joint Staffing Committees. Alan was also an active member of the Chilterns Conservation Board.

Alan was first elected to Beaconsfield Town Council in 1999 and served continuously until May 2015. Alan was also the Mayor of Beaconsfield in 2004/2005.

Alan was elected as a Buckinghamshire County Councillor in May 2017 and was a County Council representative on the Buckinghamshire and Milton Keynes Fire Authority.

Alan will be remembered as a well-respected and dedicated Councillor who always did his best for the residents of his ward and the wider area and would be greatly missed by all.

The meeting then stood for one minute's silence, as a tribute to his memory.

### 33. INTRODUCTIONS

The Chairman congratulated Councillor Matthew Bezzant on being elected as Councillor for Burnham, Lent Rise and Taplow Ward, at the by-election held on 5 October 2017, and Members welcomed Councillor Bezzant to the Council.

The Chairman also welcomed Steve Bambrick the newly appointed Director of Services to the meeting.

#### 34. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Special meeting of Council had been convened to enable Members to elect a new Leader of the Council following the resignation of Councillor Ralph Bagge.

On the proposition of Councillor D Pepler , seconded by Councillor D Smith , it was

**RESOLVED** that Councillor N Naylor be appointed Leader of the Council to the date of the post-election Annual Meeting of the Council to be held in May 2019.

Councillor Naylor thanked the Council for its support in electing him Leader and the kind words of his proposer and seconder. Councillor Naylor then expressed thanks to Councillor Bagge for his leadership of the Council since May 2015.

#### 35. **APPOINTMENT OF CABINET MEMBERS**

**RESOLVED** that the allocation of appointments to the Cabinet, as detailed below, be noted:

Councillor	Portfolio
John Read	Planning and Economic Development
(Deputy Leader)	
Barbara Gibbs	Resources
Paul Kelly	Healthy Communities
Duncan Smith	Customer and Business Support
Luisa Sullivan	Environment

The meeting terminated at 6.09 pm